Autoethnography Invesitation: Japanese Yaoi Manga

Jyotsna Singh

Today – a day before my assignment for this subject is due – I decided to change my autoethnographic experience from learning how to cook to exploring Japanese manga. I know it’s crazy but I just was not feeling confident enough with submitting my assignment on my previous idea. I decided to explore Japanese manga because it is foreign to me and I knew it would challenge me. Furthermore, a couple of years ago, on one of my Sociology classes, I briefly read about the existence of a manga genre called Yaoi. I remember feeling quite intrigued by this genre upon learning about it. Yaio (boy love) focuses on male romantic and homoerotic sexual relationships. Yaio conforms to the seme-uke dichotomy, whereby the top, dominant male (seme) pursues the bottom, passive figure (uke). Interestingly, this is not written for a male audience; in fact it is written by female authors…

View original post 560 more words

Leave a Reply

